What is Sarcasm?


Hello everyone!

Because there were many empty author spots left, I filled myself in as Random Facts Writer. Therefore, I’ll be writing random things for this blog, weekly.

This week, I’m going to talk about one thing that has been a hit lately, and it’s called sarcasm. The reason I’m doing sarcasm is because I’m Most Sarcastic Person of Half 2011 (Class of 2017 Oscar Award).

What is sarcasm? Sarcasm is a type of irony.

Whart in the world is irony?

Irony is something that conveys the opposite of its meaning. For example, if a rich person truly thinks he’s poor, that’s ironic. Or, if someone says, “I do so much of the group work!” because they truly believe that, even though the the laziest person in the class, then that’s ironic. Well, sarcasm is a type of irony.

Please click “Read More” to read more of this post. (Obviously).

And now I’ve ranted about irony, it’s time to learn about sarcasm.

Unlike irony, sarcasm is intentional. The person actually wanted to be ironic. A definition of sarcasm is, from Dictionary.com:

sar·casm

 [sahr-kaz-uhm]  Show IPA

–noun

1.

harsh or bitter derision or irony.
2.

a sharply ironical taunt; sneering or cutting remark: a review full of sarcasms.
OK, so you’ve gave me a definition, but I only have a faint idea of what sarcasm is.
Examples will help.
For example, someone is in a really bad mood and his face shows that. You can remark to him,
“Oh, your face is really, really, cheerful.”
Or, someone might not be the brightest in the class, and when she offers to be the sports team captain, you tell him:
“Yeah, but we really trust you, you little Einstein.”
If you’ve read to this point you’ll know that sarcasm is used to be harmful and mean. (And although I’m most sarcastic of this half year, I don’t use it in a mean way all the time, you all know that 😉 ).
Anyway, I’m about to make a club called “The Sarcastic Army of the Universe”. Anyone wanna join? 😆
Promise that the next post will be longer than this.
★Kєη★♜◕‿◕
Hai, what's your thought?

